What we all think, but not say

I don’t know if I can really call myself a Malaysian or 1Malaysia in [the current] context, or if such labels carry any real intention or meaning with them because:

For one, as a Dayak Iban, and correct me if I’m wrong, there is no provision in our constitution that says a Dayak Iban belongs to [this] land called Malaysia.

Secondly, I can proudly call myself a native of Sarawak, Malaysia, and [even] article 161A or 153 of our constitution placidly says that special attention must be given to [the natives], but in any legal documentation or form, there is no place for me, only Malay [Malaysian], Chinese [Malaysian], and Indian [Malaysian], what a Malaysia.

Thirdly, I’m very afraid that the Ibans [will be] prohibited from using “Allah” in our mother tongue [when no other word] can replace its meaning.

~ Nicholas Mujah, “I don’t know if I can call myself a Malaysian” (The Nut Graph, 15 Nov 2010)

2 comments

  1. Dear Dayak with the Golden Hair…

    I’m a volunteer for Yayasan LaSallian Kuching, a non-profit organisation based in Kuching that provides free education / tuition classes for the poor and disadvantaged children of Sarawak.

    I’m in the midst of developing the website and Facebook Page for Yayasan LaSallian Kuching and would like to seek permission from you to use a photo of a male rhino hornbill that was credited to your blog (https://dayakwithgoldenhair.files.wordpress.com/2011/05/male-rhinoceros-hornbill_10832_600x450.jpg).

    Hope to hear a positive response from you soon.

    Thank you.

What say you

